6 Word Shorties

There is a disagreement on whether or not Hemingway was challenged to a 6 word story and produced the following: Baby shoes for sale: never worn. Regardless of this mini-story’s origin, I find it both moving and awe-inspiring. The emotion that is packed into this one single sentence is amazing.

Because I’m not known for my brevity, and in honor of Halloween coming up soon, I thought I’d challenge myself to create some very short but spooky 6-word stories. Here they are in all their unedited glory and uncertain quality.

Locked here alone. Who’s that breathing?

Empty woods. Lost, alone. Someone’s whispering.

She tried to run, but I’m faster.

They will never find me first.

Woke up here covered in blood.

I told her to stop screaming.

I also tried to write a 6 sentence story. This shit is not easy! But it’s good practice for me. I need to hone my writing skills if I ever plan on making it through a full manuscript.

We used to be best friends. We played together every day.

But one day he started coughing, and I couldn’t come to play anymore.

I waited outside his bedroom window each day, waiting to hear an end to his coughing, and hoping to continue our unfinished game.

One day I heard not coughing, but the silence of his last breath gone.

I guess I won the game.

4 thoughts on “6 Word Shorties

  1. I enjoyed reading your six words stories.
    (She tried to run, but I’m faster) maybe I was faster works better here. Your six sentence story is an enjoyable read. Please take it as my two cents but the second last sentence needs some editing. Very nice imagination and I really like reading your creative writing here 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and your suggestions. I’ll definitely go back and look at parts you suggested changing. It’s usually my personal policy, though, not to edit unless there is a glaring error (usually as a result of my terrible keyboard). But it’s nice to get feedback to consider because it will definitely help my writing improve. Thanks 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Truth be told, I don’t get much feedback, and when I do it’s more support than helpful criticism. While support is immensely helpful, I do enjoy suggestions as well. So, thank you again. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

